To Get PFL Quote: Contact INFO@LIDAC.COM
WHO IS ELIGIBLE?
Effective January 1, 2018, employees in the State of New York may be eligible, if they meet certain criteria:
- Employees who work for private sector employers with at least 1 employee (not counting the owner).
- Employers in the public-sector that may choose to participate through collective bargaining.
- Full-time employees regularly scheduled to work 20 or more hours per week for at least 26 consecutive work weeks preceding the first full day when family leave begins.
- Part-time employees regularly scheduled to work less than 20 hours per week will become eligible to take family leave after 175 days of scheduled employment.
Any eligible individual that has a qualifying leave event (birth, adoption, foster care, care of family member during a military leave or qualifying medical issue) commencing with date on or after January 1st, 2018, as well as births and adoptions within the last 12 months — even those in 2017
LiDAC.com Representatives are prepared to assist you and your clients in reviewing the details for implementation of your
New York State Paid Family Leave Program.
Call Now! 516-482-2696
WHO IS NOT ELIGIBLE?
Employees may not be eligible for coverage under the New York State PFL due to one or more of the following criteria:
- Any employee already receiving total disability (the coverage an injured worker may receive during his or her recovery) benefits.
- Employees on administrative leave.
- Employees who work for an exempt employer.
- Employees who are excluded from coverage under Article 9 of the Disability Benefits Law (DBL) and the Paid Family Leave Benefits Law (PFL).
HOW MUCH DOES IT PAY?
January 1, 2018; up to 8 weeks of paid leave of the employee’s average weekly wage capped at a maximum of 50% of NYS Average Weekly Wage (average weekly wage in 2016 was $1,305.92).
January 1, 2019; up to 10 weeks of paid leave of the employee’s average weekly wage capped at a maximum of 55% of NYS Average Weekly Wage.
January 1, 2020; up to 10 weeks of paid leave of the employee’s average weekly wage capped at a maximum of 60% of NYS Average Weekly Wage.
January 1, 2021; and thereafter; up to 12 weeks of paid leave of the employee’s average weekly wage capped at a maximum of 67% of NYS Average Weekly Wage.